Skip to content
Free Delivery over £150 (UK Mainland Only excl. Highlands)
January 2nd 2013
2 min read

Fit to Fly Part 4: Medical Checklist

Fit to Fly Part 4: Medical Checklist Once of the most important aspects of PPL Training is the medical examination as all pilots must hold a valid medical certificate in order to fly. There are three different types of medicals 1. JAR Class 1 Medical (carried out at CAA Gatwick for commercial pilots) 2. JAR Class 2 Medical (requires a local CAA approved medical examiner) 3. NPPL Medical (can be carried out by your own GP) The type of PPL licence you choose to apply for determines which medical you need to go for. If you are unsure here is a brief breakdown of each one. JAR Licence If you are pursuing your JAR licence you are required to undergo a fairly thorough medical examination. If you are under the age of 40 the examination certificate will last for 5 years, those between 40-50 will need to renew after 2 years and those over 50 will need an annual check alongside an ECG test. Depending on which type of PPL licence you choose to do the initial medical test will typically check blood sugar, blood pressure and eye sight plus budding pilots will need to sit through a blood test, ECG test and a Peak Flow test to check lungs. The first medical is always more comprehensive than those that follow however when you pass you will be given a Class 2 Medical certificate which also doubles as your Student Pilots Licence when you begin your training. NPPL Medical The NPPL medical is a little easier and the process is based on the DVLA Class 2 Professional Driving Licence Medical requirements. Applicants must fill out a Declaration of Medical Fitness form which is then countersigned by their own GP. If the GP has any doubts he can request a full medical examination adhering to DVLA conditions. Any existing conditions can be discussed with the NPLG Medical staff before the form is submitted. The NPPL Medical lasts from the time of application until you reach the age of 50, after that any subsequent medical declarations must be renewed every 5 years. After the age of 65 this then switches to an annual check. So there you have it, our Fit to Fly series is complete! If you are about to embark on Private Pilot Licence training, make sure you take a look at our wide range of PPL Course Manuals, designed to get you into the skies.